Home | Syllabus | Readings | Final Project | Problem Sets

Syllabus

Readings in Binney & Tremaine ( BT) will be assigned for each lecture. Readings should be done before lecture. Lecture notes will be handed out at the start of every class and available online 30min before lecture.
DATE LECTURE READING
1. Tues Jan 19
2. Thur Jan 21
Introduction
Dynamical Timescales
BT 1.0-1.1
3. Tues Jan 26
4. Thur Jan 28
Potentials I
Potentials II
PS#1 due
5. Tues Feb 2
6. Thur Feb 4
The Two-Body Problem
Orbits and Exoplanets
PS#2 due
7. Tues Feb 9
8. Thurs Feb 11
Three-Body Restricted Problem I
Three-Body Restricted Problem II
9. Tues Feb 16
10. Thurs Feb 18
Orbits in Axisymmetric Potentials
The Collisionless Boltzmann Equation I

11. Tues Feb 23
12. Thur Feb 25
The Collisionless Boltzmann Equation II
Jeans Equations
13. Tues Mar 1
14. Thur Mar 3
Tensor Virial Equation
Integrals of Motion
15. Tues Mar 8
16. Thur Mar 10
Orbit-Based Modeling
Kinematical Observations
0. Tues Mar 15/17
0. Thur Mar 22/31
SPRING BREAK
SPRING BREAK
17. Tues Mar 29
18. Thur Mar 31
Relaxation Mechanisms
Collisions & Encounters
19. Tues Apr 5
20. Thur Apr 7
Dynamical Friction
The Impulse Approximation
21. Tues Apr 12
0. Thur Apr 14
Fokker-Planck Equation
MIDTERM EXAM
22. Tues Apr 19
23. Thur Apr 21
Jeans Instability
Spiral Structure
24. Tues Apr 26
25. Thur Apr 28
Student Presentations
Student Presentations
26. Tues May 3
27. Thur May 5
Student Presentations
Student Presentations


Home | Syllabus | Readings | Final Project | Problem Sets