Brouwer Prize

The Dirk Brouwer Memorial Prize is awarded upon recommendation by the Chair of the Astronomy Department to a student for a contribution of unusual merit to any branch of astronomy.

In principle the prize can be awarded for any meritorious research contribution. However by tradition in recent years, the prize has been awarded to graduate students who have completed their PhD and published it (at least most of it) in refereed journals. Students who receive their degrees in May are eligible for 2 years after graduation and ones who graduate in December are eligible for 2.5 years.

The Astronomy Department faculty consider candidates for the Prize once per year, in the spring before graduation. No prize need be awarded if there are no sufficiently strong candidates. Likewise if there is more than one strong candidate, more than one award can be made in a given year, although we expect this to be an uncommon occurance.

The Dirk Brouwer Memorial Prize was established in 1966 by friends of Professor Dirk Brouwer, Chairman of the Department of Astronomy and Director of Yale Observatory from 1941 to 1966. When first awarded, the prize was \$1000. In 2009, the prize was increased to \$5,000, but it was reduced to \$1,000 in 2010 by order of Yale Vice President and Secretary, Linda Lorimer. The prize is supported by a department endowed fund (the Brouwer Fund).

Recipients

2014 Not Awarded

2013 Anson D'Aloisio: "Cosmological Structures and Gravitational Lensing"

2012 Charles Baldner: "The Magnetic Fields of the Solar Interior"

2011 Gabe Brammer: "Massive Galaxies Near and Far: The Evolution of an Unbiased Population Over the Last Ten Billion Years"

and Peter Adshead: "Cosmological Perturbation Theory and the Early Universe"

2010 Eric Murphy: "Star Formation, Dust Heating, and Cosmic Ray Electron Cooling: A Far-Infrared and Radio Study of Nearby Galaxies"

2009 Bethany Cobb: "Long-term Observations of Gamma-ray Bursts: The Complex Connection Between Gamma-ray Bursts and Supernovae"

2008 Hugh Crowl: "Galaxy Transformation in the Virgo Cluster: Gas Stripping and Stellar Population Evolution"

2008 Ryan Quadri: "Clustering of Massive Galaxies in the Early Universe"

2007 Not Awarded

2006 Katherine Rhode: "A Wide-field Survey of the Globular Cluster Systems of Elliptical and Spiral Galaxies"

2005 Not Awarded

2004 Anna K Vivas: "A Survey of RR Lyrae Stars in the Halo of the Milky Way"

2003 Thomas Maccarone: "Constraints on Black Hole Emission Mechanisms"

Brouwer Prize

2001 Volker Bromm: "Star Formation in the Early Universe" 2000 Dana Dinescu: "Globular Cluster Orbits: Implications for the Formation of the Galaxy" 1999 Shared: Alison Sills: "Probing the Dynamics and Populations of Globular Clusters" Sydney Barnes: "The Rotational Evolution of Young, Solar-type Stars" 1998 Sukyoung Yi: "The Origin of the UV Upturn in Elliptical Galaxies" 1997 Shared: Rene Mendez: "A Semi-Empirical Model for the Distribution of Star Counts", and "Kinematical Properties of Stars in the Milky Way" Jerry Orosz Mendez: "Optical Observations of Black Hole X-ray Novae" 1996 Not Awarded 1995 Brian Charles Chaboyer: "Effects of Microscopic Diffusion and Rotational Mixing on Stellar Models" 1994 Thomas Joseph Lydon: "The Application of Numerical Simulations of Convection to Stellar Interiors" 1993 Ata Sarajendini: "Globular Cluster Photometry Near the Turnoff" 1992 Not Awarded 1991 Constantine P Deliyannis: "Primordial Lithium, Stellar Evolution and Cosmology" 1990 Young-Wook Lee: "The Evolution of Horizontal Branch Stars and the Calibration of Globular Cluster Ages" 1989 Marc H Pinsonneault: "Evolutionary Models of the Rotating Sun and Implications for Other Low Mass" 1988 Taft Armandroff: "An Observational Study of Disk-Population Globular Clusters" 1987 Michael West: "Systematic Properties of Clusters of Galaxies in Different Cosmological Scenarios" 1986 Not Awarded 1985 Michael Gregg: "Differential Spectral Synthesis of SO Galaxies" 1984 David B Guenther: "Resonant Three-wave Interactions and an Application to the 160 Minute Solar Oscillation" 1983 Jens Verner Villumsen: "Simulations of Galaxy Mergers" 1982 Linda L Stryker: "Stellar Populations in the Large Magellanic Cloud" 1981 Not Awarded 1980 Shared: John Giuliani: "On the Hydrodynamic Stability and Wave Interactions of Ionization-shock Fronts" Peter Stetson: "The Dwarf Spheroidal Galaxy in Draco" & Bruce Twarog: "An Observational Study of the Chemical Evolution of the Solar Neighborhood" 1979 Not Awarded 1978 James Rose: "A Dynamical Study of Compact Groups of Galaxies" 1977 No Response From Department 1975 Robert Zinn: "Advanced Evolution of Globular Cluster Stars" 1974 No Response From Department 1973 Kenneth A Janes: "An Investigation of Stellar Populations Among G and K Giant Stars" 1972 Not Awarded 1971 Not Awarded

Brouwer Prize

1970 Kaare Aksnes: "A Second-order Solution for the Motion of an Artificial Earth Satellite Based on an Intermediate Orbit"

last updated: 5/06/14 km